International Theatre Festival

We call it, “DESH BIDESHER NATYAMELA”. It has acquired a special place in the cultural history of the state. It is replete with theatre from different states and countries. Discussions, seminars and symposiums are the integral part of this festival. More than 190 teams have participated in this festival from 2001 to 2016. Nearly 3840 theatre artists have participated in this festival.

For last 16 years, Various theatre groups from different states and nations (like Bangladesh, Nepal, Germany, Thailand, Pakistan,Denmark, SriLanka etc.) have participated in it. Theatre related seminars and discussions are also the valuable parts of this festival. This unique theatre festival is scheduled for 10 to 15 days on the month of December every year. Reputed theatre personalities like Tapas Sen, Bibhas Chakraborty, Arun Mukhopadhyay, Harold Farmann(Germany), Syed Shamsul Haque(Bangladesh), Rudraprasad Sengupta, Nripendra Saha, Shamik Bandyapadhyay, Syed Shamsul Haque(Bangladesh), Golam Kuddus (Bangladesh) have inaugurated this festival in different years.

We publish daily bulletin during the Festival Period in our every year’s “INTERNATIONAL THEATRE FESTIVAL” ( DESH BIDESHER NATYA MELA), containing the subject of review of presenting Play, Interview of Theatre personalities & the pictures of district Theatre, Article of valuable Theatre subject by eminent Theatre Personalities. From beginning to till this year we have published near about 150 nos. of that bulletin.